Teak deck

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by 55Nord, Apr 18, 2009.

1. 55Nord

55Nord Hallberg-Rassy 45 for sal

Hi all
    I own a Hallberg-Rassy 45 and am planning to get the teak deck replaced in Thailand, once we arrive there around July/August.

I am no expert on teak so what I am asking for a little advice on different aspects:
    What to look for and be aware of when replacing a teak deck?
    Which teak are the best / worst?
    How thick teak is recommended?
    Are there any specific details about getting work done in Thailand to be aware of?

I hope some of you out there can answer some of my questions or maybe lead me in the right direction.

I will be looking forward to read your answers.

Best regards Kasper

2. Ken Johansson

Ken Johansson Junior Member

Hello!

Make sure that the teak is quarter-sawn and that you are using a good caulking compund. Sikaflex 290 DC with primer is the best, but there are also other brands that work. Use only heartwood teak, golden brown with a waxy/oily surface. Freshly worked teak has a greenish tint and need a couple of days to show its real colour. Using same thickness as it was before (9-12mm ?) is probably the best.

If you pass by Indonesia we could make it for you here.

Best Regards,

Ken

3. peter radclyffe

peter radclyffe Senior Member

4. Steve W

Steve W Senior Member

Hi Kasper, ive laid at least a dozen teak decks in my career,most in new builds but also a few replacemants. There are a few things that limit the life of a teak deck and when the deck starts leaking it can do major damage to the sub deck.
    It is amazing how much teak gets abraded away over a realatively short period of time as the boat owner maintains it to death.