Teach me about gel coat!

Discussion in 'Materials' started by craigman, Jun 28, 2009.

1. craigman

craigman New Member

Hello!
    I'm new to the forums and even newer to boats.
    I'm in the process of rebuilding my 1974 Reinell trihull. Replacing wood in floor and transom. And then i'm going to repaint it. I'm a automotive painter by trade but i no nothing about boat finishes and gelcoat.
    How are most people refinishing their boats? Are they using automotive paint or gelcoat? And how is gelcoat applied? Brushed? Sprayed?

If anyone can tell me or point me to a website that would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks for your time,
    Craig

2. Steve W

Steve W Senior Member

Gelcoat is for applying into the female mold when building new product,for refinishing old faded gelcoat the acrylic urethane car paints that you are familiar with are the ticket, typically people are using paints with brand names like Awlgrip, Sterling, International paints etc but they are not better than the Dupont, PPG and others you are used to, we painted my sons 24ft sailboat last summer using Nason Fullthane and it compares very favorably with the Awlcraft jobs we have done lately.
    Steve.

3. craigman

craigman New Member

Thanks steve!
    I wasn't sure about the gelcoat thing.
    Once i get the transom and floor done it should be a piece of cake!
    Thanks again!
    Craig

4. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

You can thin gelcoat with duratec clear additive. It will spray like an enamel with a regular gun. I use it often.

5. jaredmatteis

jaredmatteis Junior Member

Is this stuff kind of like a clear coat? Iv just finished painting my boat with aeosal spray paint, and Im thinking I need to put some sort of protecting coat over it.

6. SamSam

SamSam Senior Member