Trailer Max. Gulf Islander....

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Jim_Hbar, Dec 5, 2010.

1. Jim_Hbar

Jim_Hbar Junior Member

First, a bit about myself...

I read the forum lots, perhaps daily, and have been a member for a few years - I post occasionally if the thread is valid, attitudes are not hanging out and I can offer some insight - and this is the first thread I've started. I've read much of Option One, and most of Boston's journey.

I'm in my mid-fifties, and what I'd call semi-retired. We are in the process of re-locating to the BC Gulf Islands, and will be building a house about 5 km west of where Tad anchors, over the next couple of years..
    I'm a Professional Engineer, mechanical, and have been involved in custom industrial machine design for the past 30 years. Inventing and tinkering are some of my hobbies.
    My shop has three welding machines, lathe, small mill, drill press, and various wood working tools, and a 47' Chev street rod pickup..
    I've built three stitch-n-glue kayaks/canoes in the past, and have owned a couple of power boats over the years.

I've toured the BC mid-coast from Vancouver to Douglas Channel, and intend to spend more time out there in the coming years.

Once established in the Islands, I intend to build a boat.
    And I will likely purchase one initially, so we can enjoy the local waters and reacquaint ourselves with boating.
    Don't bother making the comment "buy a used boat" - that's not what this thread is about.. And I will be doing that..

I've searched the web, and read many threads on this and other forums over the past 5 years. There will always be designs that one is not aware of, so feel free to mention them.

Rigid requirements:

1) The boat must be "haul-able" without a pilot car on the roads and highways of British Columbia. This means that the absolute maximum beam is 3.2m or 126"..