Taking on my first boat restoration project and where to start.

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by PennDude, Mar 26, 2018.

1. PennDude

PennDude New Member

New member, first post!

I recently picked up a 1974 Mad River Malecite FG (fiberglass) canoe for $175. It's in usable shape but I'd like to restore it, since it appears to be a quality boat. Let me preface by saying that I have zero experience in working with fiberglass and gel coats. I do know how to refinish the wood and recane the seats but I'm looking for advice on where to start reading and learning about the other aspects of the restoration.

There's some bow damage where the fiberglass has been revealed and damaged and the exterior finish is a little rough. I'm fairly confident I can reglass these areas. What I'm unsure of are the exterior and interior finishes of the hull. How would I determine whether or not the exterior finish is original and whether or not it's a gel coat? Would a good cleaning and light sanding be sufficient to restore the exterior of the hull or do I need to strip it down and start from scratch? Should I gel coat or paint?

The interior finish of the hull seems almost non-existent or is very thin from age. I'd like to determine a plan of action for what to repaint or recoat the boat with and am looking for advice here on that subject. I've included an album of photos for reference. Thanks in advance and I look forward to the wealth of knowledge from this forum as well as what I'm about to learn from this undertaking.

Photo album: Canoe https://imgur.com/a/qO3Fw

[​IMG]

2. SamSam

SamSam Senior Member