Tacking a trimaran vs tacking a proa

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by smallyachtsailr, Jul 6, 2012.

1. smallyachtsailr

smallyachtsailr Junior Member

Hi all. I'm here to pick your brains. I have a small (tiny!) trimaran and am happy with it--it tacks easily and responds to the rudder well. I have no experience with proas. I'm working on a larger and faster lightweight trimaran (14' or so) design for car-topping. I often sail in narrow and sometime crowded waters, so I need a quick-tacking and maneuverable boat.

I'm considering a lot of different possible designs, although I'm focusing on another multihull. I've sailed hobies and was very underwhelmed by their tacking abilities. So catamarans are out. That leaves a trimaran, or a proa. To my mind, if I leave one ama off the trimaran and make it a proa I save a lot of weight and mass and beam--which means potentially a faster boat, and less to load on top of my car. But then as a proa, the one ama rarely leaves the water. A shunting proa simply doesn't look like a good idea in a narrow river or crowded anchorage (or am I wrong?). I have no experience and no idea how maneuverable a proa is in narrow waters. For example, I often have to tack between bridge abutments in a narrow river, against a tidal current. My small tri handles this easily, tacking only inches away from the concrete abutments.

Here's the question:

****All else being as equal as you can get it, which is more maneuverable, especially tacking, a trimaran, or a (tacking type) proa?****

Another way of phrasing it: Is the second ama worth it?

2. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Flight Ready

I have no experience with proas either but Rob Denney is a member here and could enlighten you about proas and shunting etc.
    Was the small trimaran you were considering going to be designed to fly the main hull?

3. smallyachtsailr

Thanks for the quick response Doug.