Table of offsets measurement

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by NickNate, Mar 3, 2019.

1. NickNate

NickNate New Member

Hello all,

Iam struggling to understand the offset table and need few clarifications as I am new to ship design

I understood offset data has two tables

1.Half breadth- the width of the waterline at each station measured from the centreline.

2.Height above baseline- the height of each buttock above the datum line.

I just don’t understand how to meaure Main deck side/ Main deck center and keel for the height above base line table.

Im measuring the vertical distance of each station at interaction with buttock line. Please help me out.

Body plan and offset table attached as JPEG file.
    lines plan attached as PDF.
    Awaiting feedback.
    Thanks.
    Nick

Attached Files:

2. nzboy

nzboy Senior Member

I haven't got time for a long answer. Imagine you are building this boat upside down it will then make sense

3. nzboy

nzboy Senior Member

Sorry for the first post Im Back .The boat has 3 decks the main deck is 4.7 above base line the other 2 decks follow waterlines so no need for separate table
    The main deck has a 75mm camber because it sheds water

4. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

As far as the keel goes, notice from the lines plan that from station 9 aft, the vessel has a flat plate keel. Using the table of Offsets this keel is 550mm wide (2x275) at BL at station 8 1/2, 800mm (2x400)at BL at station 8, and 800mm (2x400) at 1290mm above BL at station 1.