Rocker in straight sections

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by nzdavo, Feb 1, 2015.

1. nzdavo

nzdavo Junior Member

Hello all

I'd like to ask a question but need to start with a disclaimer!
    I'm an industrial designer - so keen on all things design but completely new to the idea of boat design!

I was sketching some hulls recently and wondered why the minimal rocker on a crusing catamaran can't be made in straight sections? Similar to how round bilge is approximated with flat panels.

If you were home building this could be a fast/easy way to build with flat panels. (I do understand that building the hull is only a small percentage of total build time.)

I downloaded Delftship and modified a cat hull in the library to test it out. I know it is terribly bad to use a tool you don't understand to do a job that you also don't understand but I was suprised by the result.

Please see images attached:
    I modified the hull so that the rocker is approximated with a sharp joint in the middle where the panels meet. This made virtually no difference to the resistance report.

I'm pretty sure there is a catch but I wonder if straight sections will have a very negative effect on a cruiser? (Not a racer)

David

Attached Files:

2. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

Of course you can build a boat that consists of nothing but flat sections, like the facets on a diamond, but the discontinuities created may not be optimal functionally, or aesthetically, or even make for an easier build, with more joins than might otherwise be needed

3. redreuben

redreuben redreuben

Flat panels usually don't have any trouble taking the shape of the long curve that is rocker so I don't see why you would bother ?

4. Milehog

Milehog Clever Quip

Also a curved panel is stronger than a flat one.

5. upchurchmr

upchurchmr Senior Member

You always need to know if the program you are using accurately predicts real world results.