Hi All - Houseboat on a Pontoon Boat Question again

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Mrpotts, Jul 1, 2010.

1. Mrpotts

Mrpotts New Member

Hi there,

Thanks for the look here.

Is it realistic to put a lightweight, 2-story, tiered cabin on an aluminum 24-28 foot double pontoon boat?

What is the possibility (I'm a stick welder, not aluminum but I want to learn TIG) of adding a center vertical support pole that would do multiple duties like structure support, crane-lifting duties, rope-swing line (boat anchored), etc.

I also would like to solar power the boat using the 3rd floor roof. Just 2 panels, 2 truck batteries (on deck), and an inverter should keep a phone and laptop powered up. Quick on the to-buy list would be a small refrigerator. Cooking could be gas easily. Music definitely.

Motor would be ideally shared-steering for two outboards mounted on each pontoon. More realistic however (just on $$ factor) would be one single 90 to 150cc four stroke motor.

I've never done a boat build from scratch but I am a marine engineer so I feel I have the skills. But my skills are systems & engines, not house building, nor boat design. I also have free space now to store and work on the boat. Time is a limit however as I think around September 1st I might have to leave the boat for awhile. I will need to leave it on a trailer during this time.

I want to get my girl on the water for some amazing inland-Florida trips around me, like car-camping on a boat.

Any thoughts are appreciated. This post is really my first step in accomplishing this. I have been watching Craiglist.org for about three months now and I can definitely get the platform and trailer for under U.S. $1000.

Cheers,
    Phil
    :D

2. Mrpotts

Mrpotts New Member

Hmm, alot of views on this but no responses. What gives?? Question to dumb or something?

Phil

3. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form