Engine swap: what is possible?

Discussion in 'Propulsion' started by EvilMoose, Feb 24, 2004.

1. EvilMoose

EvilMoose New Member

Howdy, Newbie here....

I have a customer's 1972 Reinell equipped with a 120 OMC 4-banger engine sitting in my driveway. The engine block is cracked due to a previous owner's inattention, namely not letting the water out of the block(the previous owner was a little preoccupied, being deceased in a local cemetery, so I won't get too upset..lol). Since these engines are a bit on the difficult side to find in decent condition, and I am a hot rodder to begin with, what else will swap into the boat? It appears that the original engine is a GM variant(taller deck 151 CI, now a 181 CI)..or, what newer engines fit?

Thanks,
    Elliott :confused:

2. firestorm

firestorm Junior Member

The only thing that will direct bolt in is a 2.5 or 3.0 4 banger GM block. Bell housing is a standard small block chev patern but mounts and everything else will need to be changed including the outdrive. The gear ratio will be wrong picture putting a small block in a vega and changing nothing else then run it for a hour or so WOT my bet is will not have a engine left unless you have a rev limiter and if you reprop it to handle the HP the outdrive won't survive you either can't get enough load to control the HP or you get enough load and blow the drive put a good running IRON DUKE in it and sell it for a faster boat.

3. Gilbert

Gilbert Senior Member

Hi Moose,
    I second firestorms comments and just add two things. You might like the boat just fine with a fresh iron duke. And marine engines are the equivalent of a Super Sport car engine; specifically, high performance pistons, etc. that can run all day without meltdown at high rpms so just sticking a standard short block for a Chevy II or what ever is not the same thing.
    Cheers,
    Gilbert

4. firestorm

firestorm Junior Member