Student Mech Engineer Looking for part-time work

Discussion in 'Services & Employment' started by member 14989, Jun 28, 2006.

1. member 14989

member 14989 Junior Member

I am a Mechanical Engineering student at AUT in Auckland, NZ. Have a NDME (National Diploma Mechanical Eng) and currently studing a Bachelor of Engineering Technology and BE at the same time.

Currently working part time at Peter's PRB Marine in Pakuranga as a sales/storeperson for 18months, which is the #1 dealer for Haines Signature and Reflex trailerable powerboats as well as a well established Mercury dealer. Worked at latest Auckland Boat Show. Have a very good product knowledge and passion boats and eager to have a career in boat design. Currently researching investigating the planing efficiencies of variable deadrise and constant deadrise deep vee hulls.

Looking for work anyway involved with boat design (including CAD - have strong skills in Solidworks 2005) or hands on construction in the Auckland area.

Any response or recomended contacts wuld be highly appreciated.

Contact Details

James Flett
    09-575 4707
    jamesflett@gmail.com

2. JFHammond

JFHammond Junior Member

James,

I am in need of someone who can take lines that I provide (no table of offsets) and convert them to a smaller vessel with CAD so that I can use my CNC machine to cut the molds for a mahogany launch.

Do you have such skills?

3. member 14989

member 14989 Junior Member

Hi JF

Unfortunately my CAD skills are in Solidworks, which inherently is a solid modeller and not a surface modeller. I have played around with Rhino a couple of times but definitly not enough to do what you would require.

I have used Prochine which is a basic hard chine hull CAD but the accuracy for which you would require, I would not think it is capable of.

Sorry I couldnt have been anymore help and thanks for the response. If you havn't already try posting a thread looking for someone who is experienced in a marine CAD system.