Should I get in the Boat Business?

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by georgiahemi, Sep 13, 2007.

1. georgiahemi

georgiahemi Junior Member

I am new at building boats. In fact, the only boat I have built was by the Glen L plans. It was a 10 wooden boat covered with epoxy. But this really got me hooked on it. I feel like I should have got in the business a long time ago. I loved it!! I know I should go to work for a boat manufacter to get experience, but I am 31 years old and can not handle the cut in pay. But to all you people out there that are in the business, is it worth it?? I have grown up around boats and have always loved them. I just don't know if a career change at this point in time in my life would be worth it. I just got married a year ago, so I don't want to make the wife mad either. I am just looking for some opinions from boat builders out there. I thought about just building a huge shed, and becoming a back yard boat builder. But I would really like to make a go of this. We have been wanting to move to Florida, and what better job to have in Florida. Let me know your thoughts please.

2. txtrailerdaddy

txtrailerdaddy New Member

I won't comment on if you should get in the boat building business or not. However, I have learned that you should do what you love. You don't want to get to the end of your life only to find that you spent 20-30 years wishing you had done something else. I'm not saying mortgage the house and go all in, but do what you love, just use some judgement. Find a way to do what you love and still make a living, until you are expert enough that you can go it alone. Just my .02.

TXT

3. Bergalia

Bergalia Senior Member

Should I get in the boat building business

Sound thoughts from txtrailerdaddy. Don't waste your life 'wishing' you'd done such a thing...
    At the same time don't leap straight into the 'boat building business' unless you have something 'different' to offer.