What compels you to build your own boat? Student looking for help

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by LMcDermot, Oct 17, 2011.

1. LMcDermot

LMcDermot New Member

My name is Logan McDermot. I am a industrial design student at the University of Wisconsin-Stout. I looking for anyone to who is willing to respond to this thread names will not be used.

What compelled you to build your own boat?

What is the hardest part of boat building?

If one could purchase pre-manufactured parts to assist in the building process what would that be? (specific parts, or pieces that are a problem to build)

Is the build your passion or is it sailing?

If you could please answer this thread it would be much appreciated. It would also help me in the completion of my senior thesis.

Thank you,

Logan

1 person likes this.
  2. Frog4

Frog4 Proletariat

Needed to fill my time with anything but daytime drama television designed to rot your brain.

Opening my wallet to all the greedy retailers who prey on boat builders. Just because you put a label stating "marine" on your product, doesn't mean we should pay you 200x the price.

a lot of the parts are pre-manufactured. engine, chrome, plumbing, wiring etc

The building is the passion. Sailing/boating is the product.

3. CatBuilder

CatBuilder Previous Member

A fun survey. You should end up with a lot of different answers. Here are mine, in red.

4. cthippo

cthippo Senior Member

Interesting. vBulletin doesn't recognize anything within the quotes as being a new message.

5. Frog4

Frog4 Proletariat

you have to split the quotes up using the wrap/quote button: Shaped like a balloon in the message window ...

6. Dirteater

Dirteater Senior Member

price and the getting the boat I really wanted. ;)

7. Wavewacker

Wavewacker Senior Member

I don't mind answering your marketing survey...;)

What compelled you to build your own boat?