Sticking hydraulic lifter

Discussion in 'Inboards' started by mikealston2428, Dec 31, 2014.

1. mikealston2428

mikealston2428 Senior Member

Hi guys,
    On first start up on rebuilt chev350 I have a knocking sound.
    I think it may be a sticking hydraulic lifter, engine has roller rockers.
    What can I do to stop a sticking lifter to see if this is the problem ?
    Thanks mike

2. WestVanHan

WestVanHan Not a Senior Member

I'm no SBC expert but there's other things it could be other than a faulty lifter.

Something out of alignment,clearance issues,a valve that's too tight, guides missing, etc.

3. CDK

CDK retired engineer

Lifters sometimes do that after a rebuild. Once they reach operating temperature and have received enough oil, the sound must disappear. My vintage Porsche rattles like a can of nails when I start it once a year, then gradually the lifters fill up and the engine purrs like a cat.

4. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Why solid bump stick followers? If my memory is right, you're not asking enough of this engine to need solid lifters.

The first thing to do is get a 12" - 18" length of wooden dowel, say 1/2" around. Stick one end in your ear (yeah, your ear) and the other on the lifter valley. See if you can isolate the noise, by moving it around. Certain sounds are obvious, but pin it down as best as you can. Next up will be a vacuum gauge which will confirm what you suspect. Pull the valve covers and check heights as you turn the engine by hand.

Before any of this you can try "Marvel Mystery Oil" or my usual concoction adding 20% - 25% automatic transmission fluid to the engine oil. Pull the filter, replace the filter after filling with ATF, them top off the remaining oil with ATF. Run the engine an low to moderate RPM, until you've got a few good solid heat/cool cycles in it. This often will free up a reluctant lifter. Of course change the oil and filter after this run in, with regular motor oil

5. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member