Stern Drive platforms???

Discussion in 'Gas Engines' started by Cranky Janke, Sep 3, 2011.

1. Cranky Janke

Cranky Janke Junior Member

Hey,

I'm new to this forum and I don't know anything about boats or boat engines.. however I'm an student-architect attempting to design floating platforms that connect two banks of the river Spree in Berlin. These platforms need to be able to move to allow for motor boat traffic and I'm wondering if Stern Drive platforms are an option? that could move and fit in together in clusters to allow for traffic.. and if this could/would determine the form of the platforms? for example if it being circular would effect its' movement as opposed to it being hexagonal or rectangular..? or if not Stern drive is there any other method I can use?

Sorry about the hundred questions!
    any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

Cheers :)

2. FMS

FMS Senior Member

Not likely a good option. Difficult to maintain over time and not optimised for maneuvering a barge at slow speed and tight quarters. What size are these barge platforms? Can you post a sketch of your idea? It would generate better comments.

3. Cranky Janke

Yeah so the idea is to have these floating barge platforms that connect the two banks. Preferably they can move and fit in together.. so they won't/can't necessarily be circular. or be connected by mini 'jettys' that connet them which can rotate and make way for traffic...? I know it sounds a bit far fetched but i'd like to give it a go if it can be done! haha

Attached Files:

4. Cranky Janke

more like this maybe? or have jettys that can rotate and move out of the way might be a better idea..? but the river itself at where my site is, is only 62 metres from bank to bank so space is an issue..

Attached Files:

5. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Outboards are the easiest solution. You can make the mount to turn so they can be used as thrusters.

6. Cranky Janke