Composite calculus

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by JimmyJames, Aug 28, 2009.

1. JimmyJames

JimmyJames Junior Member

Hi,

I am a recently graduates mechanical engineer and I'm on a new project of boatbuilding. My job is to calculate the tickness and the composition of sandwich laminates. I had some course on that at school but I don't really remember anyting on that. I have all the mechanical proprieties of the resin, clothes and core material and I just want some advice on how to calculate the sandwich proprieties. I would like to make my calculus by hand first and maybe later i will use a FEM software. Could someone helps me get some informations on composites calculus method?

Thks

2. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

If you are interested in analysis of the layup only, get a copy of Introduction to Composite Materials by Tasi & Hahn. If you need more, pick up Engineered Materials Handbook Vol 1, by ASM.

Last edited: Aug 28, 2009
    1 person likes this.
  3. daiquiri

daiquiri Engineering and Design

A good book is a prime choice. If you cannot afford it or don't have access to it, you can search the internet for "Classical Laminate Theory". There are sites around with some really neat explanations and lessons.

Or, you can get a copy of Scantling Rules for ships by some classification society.
    For example, Bureau Veritas' "Rules for the Classification and the Certification of Yachts" (which can be found on their internet site, and it is free) explain (or prescribe) the laminate calculation and verification process in the Part B, Chapter 12, Sections 1 through 5.

1 person likes this.
  4. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Once you have followed the above advice, be very careful using FE with composites. Since it is not isotropic, the properties that require an input into the software assumes an "ideal". In reality this is never the case.