starting out in boat building

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by epicadventures, Jan 9, 2007.

1. epicadventures

epicadventures Junior Member

Hello Forum,

I am just planning to start a very small boat building business and I am seeking advice. I have a degree in Industrial Design and I spent some time working for a small wooden boat designer in Annapolis so the design is not a problem. What I am wondering is, what are the regulations, liabilities and so forth that I should be concerned about if I am building say 10 boats a year. These boats would be 17' - 25' long wooden fishing boats. What should I consider, where should I source outboard motors?

Thanks

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Check OSHA, state regulations, local regulations and get a manufacturer's certificate from the USCG(they give you a manufacturer letter code for the HIN)
    I can provide you with outboards delivered to your door.

3. SamSam

SamSam Senior Member

I'm pretty sure you will have to conform to the USCG level flotation requirements. The ABYC has lots of recommendations, whether they are manditory or not, I don't know, but all their stuff is based on experience.
    http://www.abycinc.org/
    As far as liabilities, #1. I believe you will be liable for anything you make until the thing no longer exists. #2. You can't afford liability insurance. Sam

4. BTScow

BTScow Junior Member

Take a business course.

Don't do it!!!!(unless you have wad of money and then I would say, patronize the arts and have it built for you by one of the many starving builders) Having just gotton on my feet from an illfated boat building venture - and yes, considering going into another one...why am I so #$%$ stupid...

Its a tough racket cowboy. Get the point. If not, I wil be happy to share my pain.

5. Ike

Ike Senior Member