Plumb now planning hull??

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by daaavo, Sep 1, 2019.

1. daaavo

daaavo New Member

hi guys, long time member, first time poster! just wanting to run a concept idea past you.

Im a boat builder by trade, mostly fibreglass planning hulls.

I am currently dreaming up an attempt to design the perfect boat (for me).

I am wondering if there is any reason why a planning hull shouldn’t have a plumb bow. I can’t think of a better way to achieve a smooth ride on a trailerable hull than to go with a plumb bow. I am no naval architect but relying on common sense, I dare say that a plumb bow is going to better slice through chop and small waves and hence keeping the hulls front from ‘ramping’ sharply upwards over chop in a superior manner to your average trailerable planning hull which has a bow sprit much further forwards in relation to the point at which the bow meets the keel.

I look forwards to hearing your thoughts. Cheers

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

They are usually wet which is uncomfortable. Another issue is broaching when surfing downwind. I suppose some hulls with pronounced rocker on the forefoot may prevent that.

3. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

In reality, it isn't so much the bow area that does the "slicing" in the kind of water that leads to a jarring ride, it is the underbody further back, otherwise the deep-vee style hull would never have come into vogue.

4. daaavo

daaavo New Member

Interesting points raised, thanks for your input!

5. DCockey

DCockey Senior Member

6. Barry

Barry Senior Member

Ranger tug produces a 29 that has a plumb bow that goes almost all the way to the keel. (unlike the Axopar above)