Stability of a small ship

Discussion in 'Stability' started by issac82, Jan 31, 2009.

1. issac82

issac82 Junior Member

Hi all guys!

I am a student.I want to ask that I have been given the task of finding out the stability of a small ship designed several years before.I am not having good idea of stabilty calculations.Can somebody guide me that what else I need to do to calculate the stability and by which method or software.I shall be v thankful.I am going through several books to fid out the right way.Please help me out of this problem.

Thanx to all guys.

Regards

2. Guillermo

Guillermo Ingeniero Naval

Let me try to understand your needings:
    1.- Have you been asked to perform a stability test to an existing vessel and then perform all load & stability calculations and find out the compliance with some specific requirements?
    2.- Or then, have you just been asked to calculate the hydrostatics, KN curves, etc, for an specific design?
    3.- Or.....what?

Cheers.

3. issac82

issac82 Junior Member

Hi,

I have been asked to do the stability calculations for an existing vessel.I want to know what all I require to do.

thanx

4. Guillermo

Sorry, but I still do not understand what 'stability calculations' have you been asked for and what information have you been provided with. Please clarify.

Cheers.

P.S. Just in case.....

KB = 1/3 (5T/2 - V/Afl)
    BM = 0.08*B^2/T

B: beam
    T: draught
    V: displacement volume
    Afl: floatation area

If you now estimate KG, you can get an idea on what the initial GM is.

GM = KB + BM - KG

5. Tcubed

Tcubed Boat Designer

To create a graph of righting moments you need the lines plans and you need to know the vertical center of gravity.

You will first find the longitudinal static center of buoyancy by taking the longitudinal moments of areas of each of the statically immersed sections about a fixed arbitrary point , summing them all and dividing this by total area of all immersed sections.