Stability Issues on my TUG - pls help!

Discussion in 'Stability' started by jfrech, Apr 3, 2014.

1. jfrech

jfrech Junior Member

I am very new to boating and could use some help regarding my stability concerns on my new purchase.

I just purchased a 1951 tug boat in which underwent some modifications to the hull making it taller, allowing for more head space in the belly of the ship. To make it more live able. Anyway I am very concerned that the ships stability has been jeopardized. (making it more top heavy) I sent a picture attached, it’s the one on the right (red). I was hoping you could guide me to the appropriate formulas to come to some conclusions to how stable this vessel should be and or if there is anything I can do to add to the beam? I intent do use vessel as a pleasure cruiser yet we I worry if I ever get caught in a storm on the great lake superior in Ontario Canada, that the stability concerns will be realized. Aswell many advanced sea goers tell me that the beam is way to narrow, yet cant give me any credible info.

Dimensions, 13tons, 38 feet x 10.2” beam, 4 foot draft. After the hull was heightened (unsure how much it was added on to) they added a much larger engine, roughly 2500lbs in weight more than original in which they believed that would give the ship a lower center of gravity aiding in stability.

Anyway, any help would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Attached Files:

2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

I would be happy to help you but to do some serious calculations is necessary to have a body lines plan, weight table with centers of gravity and tanks plan (very useful, also a GA).
    Tugs usually have high initial stability, especially if they have to work stretching over the side (maybe this is not the correct term, but I do not know to explain it otherwise). Therefore it is likely that, if you use she as pleasure boat has enough stability.