Stability Index help

Discussion in 'Stability' started by Mik the stick, Dec 7, 2012.

1. Mik the stick

Mik the stick Senior Member

I am a retired engineer (electronic) and have a interest in aircraft design and boat design. I have bought Dave Gerr's book on propellers.

From Westlawn articles I got the formulas to work out roll period. From this forum I learned the CSF and Brewers Motion comfort formula.I know how to calculate Stability index but I don't fully understand it. Posts in this forum show some sail boats have SI between 0.47 and 0.96.

Does a lower SI number mean the boat is more stable in bad weather.

My main interest is in WW2 boats/ships. I calculated a Fairmile B motor launch to have an SI of 0.57 even if my calculations are not to accurate I think that's not bad. If under 1 is good enough for offshore work The B could operate anywhere in the world which of course it did.
    mik.

2. Mik the stick

Found an answere of sorts

I found a pdf file on this forum in it it say the limiting GM is the value required to pass IMO regulation which I know nothing about. It goes on to say a rule of thumb for required GM is 20%Hw(wave height). My calculation for GM was 6.44 so 6.44/0.2 = 32ft. My Beaufort scale chart gives force 9 probable wave height of 23ft and maximum of 33ft. Force 8 as 18ft and 25ft.

Obviously there is no guarantee you won't capsize a boat even in good weather, with a skilled captain I feel a Fairmile B could survive a force 9 gale, a force 8 would probably not be to much of a problem.

I'm sure I read somewhere MTB's could operate in force 4 to 5 but it can't have been comfortable.
    Mik

3. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

GM has nothing to do with the wave height. Its value depends on the position c. of gravity of the boat and the metacentre, which depends, in turn, on the moment of inertia of the waterline, and displacement to that waterline.