stability analysis by maxsurf, rhino , and archimedes!

Discussion in 'Stability' started by pavel915, Dec 5, 2006.

1. pavel915

pavel915 Senior Member

dear all wise members of this forum;
    I am a new student in naval architecture, I am very serious about designing very nice ships; but all the help I got from my university is said to be very less;;; really!So I want to learn something from the honorable members of this forum!
    I use maxsurf academic for hulll design , and then export the GHS data by using rhino and try the analysis of stability by archimedesMB.
    But I want to know a very important thing ; that is;;;;;; while going for designing the hull in maxsuf academic and analyzing the hydrostatics and stability in archimedisMd ;;;; where should I give my attention to create a very much stable vessel? that is that will have a very good stability?
    Actually I am asking you about some ways and theory by which I can make a very much stable and nice vessel by using maxsurf , rhino and archimedisMB,

after somedays there will be ship design project and presentation compitition in my university ; so I am in need of that knoledge!
    please help me by your valuable words and suggessions !
    thank you all!

2. Mikey

Mikey Senior Member

Big area, ships. Are you talking about sailing or motor yachts, or merchant ships?

3. pavel915

pavel915 Senior Member

I want actually imformation about Big merchant ships!

4. dougfrolich

dougfrolich Senior Member

Look for a book called "Stability and Trim for the Ships Officer" by John La Dage and Lee Van Gemert
    Library of Congress Catalog Card No. 56-6885
    My edition is from 1959, but it is still the most complete ref. regarding ships stability IMHO

5. Tim B

Tim B Senior Member

"Basic Ship theory Vol 1&2" by rawson and tupper are also good texts, as is "Ship Hydrostatics and Stability" by Adrian Biran.

Tim B.

6. Mikey

Mikey Senior Member