Building a center counsel "Need HELP!"

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by ryanpratt, Jan 8, 2010.

1. ryanpratt

ryanpratt Ryan

Building a center console "Need HELP!"

Hello Boat design.net!

I am new at building and would like some help. I would like to build a counsel out of fiberglass and a non-organic core material but dont know where to start i have not been able to find any book or information.

I am very proficient with wood as im a carpenter and have done small gel coat and fiberglass jobs but have never build something fore the marine environment from the ground up. I could build with marine ply and glass and fill no problem but i would like to explore a more modern approach to construction and would like to have 0% wood in the final product.

Please take a look at the design bellow and let me know what you think.

[​IMG]

2. ryanpratt

ryanpratt Ryan

Updated pic

This will be a shock mitigating jockey counsel. The weight and stress of the seat/shock will be an external aluminum mount that bolts to deck so structural load will not need to be transferred to counsel.
    [​IMG]

This design is property of Hawser Inc. I have spent a lot of time on this design so please respect and dont copy.

3. Luckless

Luckless Senior Member

Were you looking for the word console?

What kind of boat is this going on? You seem to be missing some controls.

I also worry about the structural issue of it leaning forward like that. If the boat hits a wave hard and pitches the operator forward, then you could be placing a lot of tension stress on the lower portion. I would put the front bottom edge farther forward, and modify the main upright to eliminate that shelf. (The shelf looks hard to build, useless for storing anything, and just another nook for dirt to build up in. Plus your structural stress vectors would be a little more even.)