Spray Rig Modifications

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by Jim Bates, Dec 10, 2018.

1. Jim Bates

Jim Bates Junior Member

I have a steel Spray 38 built to Bruce Roberts plans. The builder was a welder by profession who did a great job on the steel fabrication, and put a gaff cutter rig on it. I am interested in increasing the size of the mainsail by modifying it to a fan shaped top, similar to what a member with a username of Bataan, put on his junk-rigged Spray inspired boat , the Bertie. Bataan was, up until 3 years ago, quite active on this forum.
    I have extensive racing experience, including an OSTAR, and an well aware of this boats speed limitations. Other then replacing the fixed three blade prop with a feathering prop and increasing the sail area to get the sail area/displacement ratio to about 17-18, the only other mod is to put on a 20 foot mizzen mast (marconi rigged), which will also serve the purpose to vang the gaff, hoist a mizzen staysail, and carry a radar. If I still need more sail area, then I will raise the mast higher if I must. The boat is quite stiff and can support it.
    This is the first experience I have had with a gaff rig, and like it, other then the forest of external halyards. The gaff is attached at the throat to a substantial Aluminum ring with a UHMW liner , (to reduce friction and chaff. I propose to put full battens every 4 feet from the boom, to a point even with the throat, each riding on a mast hoop, and then two battens between the throat and the gaff, to support the fan-topped main sail. It would be helpful to me to talk to Bataan and look at the rigging on Bertie if I could locate him.