considering starting a part time boat building business

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by srimes, Sep 20, 2010.

1. srimes

srimes Senior Member

Hopefully I won't come across as just another ignorant dreamer, but I'd appreciate advice about starting a boat building business.

I'll start with some personal background. My degree is in Industrial Engineering and I've worked in manufacturing since graduating a few years ago. I built my first "boat" while I was in school because even used canoes were out of my budget (it was a great little thing). I have a negative net worth (marriage, kids, medical bills, student loans), but I have a good job.

I'd love to run my own business, and I like boats and want more, maybe I can combine the two.

My idea is to build a boat that a) I want, and b) I think others would want too. And instead of building it as just a one off (i.e, s+g), I would set up for production, i.e.: mold, patterns, jigs and fixtures, procedure documentation, etc.

I'm hoping that the dollar value of the first hull and the mold (if I were to sell both) would be worth at least the dollar outlay, and the value of the experience/education is worth my time investment. So if I had to cut my losses at this point it wouldn't hurt too badly.

But if I am able to sell the things, the following boats would be much quicker and cheaper to produce, and if there is enough demand I could hire labor and grow the business organically. And even if there isn't that much demand, it could still be a side business that brings in some extra money, and I would learn a lot.

Does this sound like a good basic idea? Please offer your critiques and suggestions, and if it possibly is a decent idea, I'd like to explore the details.

Thanks

2. Submarine Tom

Submarine Tom Previous Member

Great idea.

How are you going to make it work?

-Tom

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder