Multi-purpose stitch & glue boat design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by S_Mykra, Jun 22, 2014.

1. S_Mykra

S_Mykra New Member

Hello all,

I'm new to this forum. My boat design and building experience is limited to only one screw & glue plywood punt that I made decades ago. I used that boat mostly for hunting, fishing and bird photography. She is long gone now, and I have used my recent years for working, raising kids, building a house etc. etc.

Now I have plans to once again go down the boat building road, and when thinking of various desings I decided to register here. In spite of my ~50 yrs I am obviously a total newbie in this and need some help. Referring to my minimal experience I have a revealing question that I want to express here. I totally understand that for many of you it may also appear as a stupid question, but nevertheless I'd like to hear your opinions.

What kind of a design you would suggest for a multi-purpose DIY vessel that can be constructed with stitch & glue method? With "multi-purpose" I mean that the boat must not be excellent for any particular use, but it should be acceptably good for

- rowing
    - punting
    - motoring (max 3-4hp)
    - sailing (i.e. it can be equipped with a simple detachable sail rig + keel & rudder)
    - duck hunting (maneuverability in shallow water and in reeds)
    - fishing (angling and trolling in rivers, lakes and sheltered seashore archipelago)

Furthermore, it should

- be capable of carrying 2 persons + their necessary gears
    - not exceed 13 feet
    - be easily moved with a trailer
    - comfortably accommodate the oars and the sail rig onboard even when they're not in use

Is any of you familiar with a design that could fulfill all or most of those demands?

In case that appears to be too challenging, and you would decide to build two different boats to fulfill all those demands, what kind of designs you would then end up with?

With kind regards,
    Sakari Mykra
    FINLAND

2. philSweet