Design of a Land Sail/Land Yatch

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Aeronaut, Sep 21, 2007.

1. Aeronaut

Aeronaut New Member

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post & I indeed am glad to be a part of the network here!

I am a student from India, novice in the art & science of boat design.
    I am looking forward to designing & constructing a simple land sail for my college project.

I would like to request for some guidelines with which I can proceed right from the conceptualization stage.

In particular I may need help in areas such as land yatch dynamics & sail design.

Looking forward to your responses!

Thanks & keep up the good work!!

Regards,

Aeronaut

2. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Hi Aeronaut,

A land yacht is the same as an ice boat, dynamically, especially if it is to be used in open spaces. Therefore I recommend you look into ice boat design 9especially sail design) instead of sailboat design when studying design on your own. Obviously, the apparent wind is much farther forward on ice boats and land yachts.
    Interesting project. If you use sails you can't go in all directions, but if you use a propeller, you can, which has been proven on boats.
    What kind of areas do you have to run it? No problem if you only build a scale model, of course.

Alan

3. SamSam

SamSam Senior Member

4. Aeronaut

Aeronaut New Member

Hello Alan,

I will go forward as advised. I plan to test it on typical open expanse of land associated with land yatchs. Have zeroed down on an airfield at a nearby flying club where we can expect decent wind. I intent to build a quick scale model to start with but one of the project goals involves building a rideable vehicle. I am confident of taking it to fruition with the kind of resources available with me, but it is only the initial design activity of land sail that I am not acquainted to!