needing help here ...

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by ning, Jan 15, 2004.

1. ning

ning Guest

hey there! i am an industrial design student in singapore. currently i am working on a human-powered transportation project. and i haf some enquiries on the hydrofoil theory.

ok here goes...

lets say i have a surfboard-like kind of board. and i attached a couple of hydrofoil fins on the bottom. then i get a guy of an average weight and height to kneel on top of it holding on to a conventional kayak pedals. and with the pedal, he paddles forward.

now my question is,

1. if he were to gain enough speed, will the 'sufboard-with-hydrofoils' be able to achieve a similar result as those hydrofoil boats and sailboats? in other words, will the board be able to rise up above the water, thus causing less drag and allowing the board to proceed faster?

2. and if it is possible, then what is the estimated speed that he needs to travel?

ya these are what i need to know. i am not any marine engineer, so i am pretty lost at this subject and hope to be able to get some answers from here. your help is very much appreciated! you can reply to this thread, or email me at f@rk.theinbox.org

ya thx alot and hope to get some replies soon!

yours truly,
    ning

2. ErikG

ErikG Senior Member

3. ning

ning Guest

hey thx alot... seen the site... cool stuff!

4. Suede

Suede Junior Member

Eric...you look much younger today....;-)

Grattis !!!
    Olle

5. ErikG

ErikG Senior Member

Yeah I do don't I? :D [yummy]

6. ning

ning Guest

but hey... my problem is still not solved.
    i was wondering if there will be problem on the initial of the craft. becos it will human-powered by a set of kayaking paddles.
    and wat is the minimum speed that the craft have to attain in order to 'fly'?

ning

7. NiklasL

NiklasL Student member

I remember...

Sorry that I don't know for shure who or when: