SolidWorks

Discussion in 'Software' started by Nomad, Feb 4, 2003.

1. Nomad

Nomad Senior Member

Does anyone esle in here use it??

2. CGN

CGN Senior Member

Hi, i'm starting to use solidworks and has been a great help for speed up modifications to a model but not the fastest way yet for me to model in 3d, solidworks has all the tools, and the parametric features, wich are great, but still its tricky to speed up the 3d modelling itself, i like solidworks and i will keep working with it i found the interface very easy to use and understand, for me it's one of those software that i just played with it for a while and i was already creating simple models on it.

3. Stephen Ditmore

Stephen Ditmore Senior Member

4. danlieb

danlieb New Member

Hi,
    i am using Solid and it's great !
    If you need any help let me know

5. dougfrolich

dougfrolich Senior Member

I have been using SolidWorks for three years. I find it very usefull for structural arrangements, because changes to geometry is so easy-and for developing components. I would not attempt to fair the lines in SolidWorks, for that a dedicated lines fairing program like Maxsurf is the way to go. SolidWorks,Rhino,and Maxsurf make a very complete suite of software, and import/export very easily among one another.

6. danlieb

danlieb New Member

I am using MultiSurf for the line fairing, import the model to solid and use MicroStation for the final 2d drawings.
    By the way, do you know how the re define a context of a part in an assembly in SolidWorks ?
    When copy and asembly, even with the refference option - that is with all it's sub assemblies, I somtimes get the annoying message telling me that:
    "This part has a feature defined in the context of onother assembly...you can not add any external refference to it..."
    Dan

7. dougfrolich

dougfrolich Senior Member