VHF antenna construction.

Discussion in 'OnBoard Electronics & Controls' started by valvebounce, Nov 21, 2013.

1. valvebounce

valvebounce Senior Member

I have a Midland 5600 vhf radio and would like to construct my own antenna.
    I can't find any explicit instructions or drawings on the net.
    I can make the stainless brackets etc.but I haven't a clue on how they are connected,or how long the antenna needs to be.I realise that the height the antenna is mounted is the distance for the "line of sight".This is my first boat and radio,so I am a real newbie.Getting the connections and insulation points are my main concern.
    Any help,and perhaps a simplfied drawing would be greatly appreciated.

2. michael pierzga

michael pierzga Senior Member

Dont know. Sailboats have been using insulated stay vhf antenna for a long time. There is a minimum length, but i dont believe there is a maximum length. Im sure a Boatd esign net contributor will come on and clarify, explain..."db " and antennas.

Normally the big consideration is line loss......The signal radiating out of the coaxial cable connecting the vhf to the antenna....before the signal can escape from the antenna
    A fiberglass whip is a hollow tube with a copper antenna wire inside the tube. The glass tube only makes the wire stand up.

Perhaps its best to state how long you would like to make your antenna then ask a BDN guy how to best do it.

3. valvebounce

Thanks Michael,you have answered one of my queries by telling me that the whip is hollow,and supports a copper rod/wire.I have some old hollow fishing rods I can use for the whip.They are fibreglass and composite,I believe carbon is a conductor,so I will avoid using any carbon rods.(Can do without a lightening conductor on board Haha.)I have found conflicting info.on the length,I think 6ft 3ins is about right.Something to do with the wavelength/cycles.I will wait for the correct info before I make a move.
    Many thanks V.

4. CDK