Software to convert lofting offsets to CNC?

Discussion in 'Software' started by jakmang, Mar 3, 2011.

1. jakmang

jakmang Junior Member

Hello,

I am a newbie. I have done some searches and have not found much. What I would like to do is automate the lofting and cutting of molds and bulkheads for a strip planked boat. Ideally, I would be able to enter offsets off of the plans and receive CNC instructions that would allow full size cutting of molds and bulkheads in plywood. Does software exist to do this?

Thanks.
    -jak

2. Lurvio

Lurvio Mad scientist

I think the easiest way would be to just use the software connected to the cnc-machine you'll be using. In a program I've used (a version of AlphaCAD/CAM) you draw lines using the offset-points, then add tooling commands (cnc-machine specific) and export the NC-code to the machine.

You can also write straight NC-code on the machine, but that takes time to learn.

Lurvio

3. duluthboats

duluthboats Senior Dreamer

You can loft the stations in 2D CAD, or draw a 3D model from the offsets. Once you have the stations in digital form they can be exported in .dxf format to most any CNC control. Sometimes there may be some intermediate steps but it is a simple process. The hard part is to get the these files fair and true to the offsets before they go to the CNC. If you are not familiar with CAD and are only doing one simple hull it would be much easier to loft on the floor. If it is a bigger project you might look at some help for the CAD work.

You can download Rhino 3D for free which will give you 25 saves, that may be enough to do a simple hull if you are careful. There are packages from totally free to many thousands.

If you read through this section of the forum you will find endless info on this subject.

Gary :D

1 person likes this.
  4. Tim B

Tim B Senior Member