Design:how to start

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by captain john, Sep 1, 2009.

1. captain john

captain john john

hello,
    i am new in this forum and i am a new boat designer so i don't know much about boat design....any help from you would be very helpful in this point....i would like to know how to start designing on the paper(if some tutorials are avaliable) or if you could tell me how to design it on the computer....
    thank's for your time..

1 person likes this.
  2. joz

joz Senior Member

If you are a boat designer as you say you are then why ask this question, either you are a boat designer or not :confused:

3. captain john

captain john john

by telling i am a new boat designer i mean that i haven't started to design yet but i want to....so if you want to offer me any help....

4. wardd

wardd Senior Member

for some of us english may be a second language

5. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Hi cap'n john,

May I suggest you start with some books. Everyone has their favourites. "Principles of Yacht Design" (Larsson/Eliasson) is a popular one, as is Skene's "Elements of Yacht Design" and its Kinney revision. Other books to track down are those by Dave Gerr, C.A. Marchaj, Steve & Linda Dashew, Steve Killing, Chris White.... the list goes on, depending on what you're interested in.

Get to know the terminology, the mathematical coefficients, the effect of various design features on the behaviour of a boat.

Now go hang out at the local boatyard. Wander around the yachts, dinghies and powerboats that are hauled out. Try to relate what you see here to what you read in the books. Talk to owners.