Small electric cat - hydrofoil

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Eciton, Sep 23, 2018.

1. Eciton

Eciton Junior Member

was watching youtube and seeing a lot of small jetboards using electric motors to push a surfboard to the speed required to "fly" using a hydrofoil system. I was tossing the idea around of something a little larger, perhaps a 12' cat with folding foils that can fold up into the space between the hulls.

seems there are a number of sailing cats with foils, and human powered cats with foils - so the speed cannot be so much that a modern electric motor and batt system couldnt do the same.

question: as I am not an engineer, just a tinkerer. ideally I would want no more than 2 wings under the boat and ideally the ability to swing them up between the hulls to beach or trailer.

1.) how do you size a hydrofoil element? I assume its a combo of power available, surface area of the wing, wing design, and boat size but I'm not clear on the details

DISCLAIMER: I have not done any research on the design other than a quick google to see that I have not seen a similar creature out there.

2. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Flight Ready

This may help you to think it out: Lift Foils - Home of the eFoil electric hydrofoil surfboard, now shipping https://liftfoils.com/
    Note-price is $12,000!
    You could use a strut system like the efoil-perhaps a bit larger to reflect greater weight- and have the whole assembly retract between the hulls using a trunk in the crossarm structure.
    If you are really interested get "Design Build Fly" by Ray Vellinga which is, in essence, a design/build manual for small hydrofoil boats.

liftfoil-efoil-.jpg

3. Eciton

Eciton Junior Member

yes, that is the youtube video I saw that got my brain working on this idea to begin with.

$12K is loco, there is a good amount of info on their site though thanks for the link.

anyone else thats interested, theres a fairly active DIY efoil site