Bulk Carrier Offset Data

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by StudentNavArch, Mar 26, 2015.

1. StudentNavArch

StudentNavArch New Member

Hello Boaty people,

I'm a student Naval Architect and I need the offset data or a CAD model of a reasonably sized bulk carrier (150m min) for a piece of University work I am currently doing using AVEVA software. The project is basically to do with optimising a ships hull form in different ways using the software.

Anyone know the best way to get hold of this data.

Any help will be much appreciated.

Thanks guys :D

2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

This is a ship of the following dimensions:
    Loa = 121 m
    B = 5.18 m
    H = 10.08m
    If you make an affine transformation you can adapt to your needs

Attached Files:

3. StudentNavArch

Thanks TANSL.
    If anyone has another please still post it. This one is good although a bigger one would be preffered. Also, a bulbous bow would be beneficial.

4. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

You may not have understood what I say. By an affine transformation you can get that hull has exactly the dimensions you need. They are the shapes of a bulkcarrier and therefore can be used perfectly. Nor will you ever noticed that ship has bulbous bow. I like to help but I like the person I intend to help read what I send.
    Cheers.

5. StudentNavArch

Sorry TANSL,
    I was not sure what you meant by affine transformation at that point but now i understand. I did read the file that you sent, I was only mentioning the bulbous bow so that anyone posting a new file would know more about what kind of hull form I was after. Although, as you have pointed out it is no longer neccesarry for someone to do so as your hull form satisfies my needs.
    Don't be so quick to judge in the future.
    Thank you kindly.

6. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

Sorry, SNA, but I found your answer quite frustrating. Do not worry, you have no problem with me.