Confirmation on my calculations

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by khaulenn, Jan 4, 2009.

1. khaulenn

khaulenn New Member

Hi All,
    I am a complete newbie to boat building and am trying to desing my own little fishing pontoon platform.
    According to my research, 1 cubic foot of water is 62.5 lbs.
    If I have a pontoon that is 12" x 9" x 90" = 5.625 cubic feet. x 2 pontoons = 11.25 cubic feet x 62.5 = 703lbs of displacement.
    Now, obviously I don't want to have the deck underwater, in fact I would like to be 3 to 5 " above the water so, that means I am actually reducing the height of the usable volume of the pontoon to say 8" or say 66%.
    703 * .66 = 468 lbs.
    I think my gear and I would weigh about 250, with a little room for lunch, and my boat about 150. That leaves me with 68 lbs of room to be where I want to be.

Now, the big question is, am I nuts?

Thanks, I am going to go have a beer and ponder my design.
    Khaulenn

2. TeddyDiver

TeddyDiver Gollywobbler

And if you happen to get a BIG fish??

3. Guest625101138

Guest625101138 Previous Member

I usually aim for 100% reserve buoyancy with sealed hulls. If I determined total displacement was going to be 400lb I would design for total volume no less than 800lb. If you want to sit low on the water then it is a mater of shaping the hulls accordingly. Ideally the pontoon would have sufficient buoyancy so that you can stand at any location on the deck without getting feet wet or it rolling over. You can limit the deck area if necessary.

If you had unsealed hulls then you need considerably more freeboard so waves do not slosh in.

A sketch would help us better understand what you are planning. You do not say much about its intended use. Will it be moored or do you want to power it in some way?

Rick W

4. timothy22

timothy22 Junior Member