River Boat prop

Discussion in 'Props' started by rfleet1066, Feb 13, 2019.

1. rfleet1066

rfleet1066 rfleet1066

We launched the 'Sebastian Marie' a few months ago and have cruised a hundred hours or so, shaking her down, refining and tweaking systems, and now, armed with a little data we are ready to optimize the prop. The first prop was ordered based on the Vic prop calculator. The result is somewhat sub-standard but among the input items, my hull type was not considered. I'm going to drop a little data here in hopes that someone will have some input. This is my first try at building a boat and I am armed only with ignorance.

The vessel is a tri-hull pontoon, hulls 65' in length, 60" in diameter.
    She weighs about 80,000 lbs and has a 26" waterline
    I have fitted her with a John Deere 85 hp diesel, 2400 rpm max with a 2:1 reduction
    This drives a 20' longtail
    The current prop is 24" dia with a 12 pitch, four blades. It's driven by a 1.5" shaft
    This works, but not as well as I would like. The prop cavitates above 1800 engine RPM and the vessel only makes 5 MPH
    The prop shop says they can increase the existing pitch a little, but don't expect a miracle.

Please advise,

Ryland

IMG_0623.JPG P1070987[1].jpeg P1070987[1].jpeg

2. kapnD

kapnD Senior Member

4341BCFE-2705-49F0-9F3B-AA7578BD7044.jpeg
    I’m curious as to how you would do the math for a propeller worksheet on a hull like this.
    Do you add the length/beam/draft of all three hulls?
    I tried it that way, got 18.7 x 17.8 for 4 blades, likely wrong, see below.
    Also does a standard propeller calculator even apply to a long Tail?
    I’ve seem some tailers that appeared to run more as a surface piercing prop than fully submerged.
    I would think complete submersion would be absolutely necessary in this case, for maximum efficiency from low power.

3. rfleet1066

rfleet1066 rfleet1066