Best Configuration for twin diesel battery system

Discussion in 'OnBoard Electronics & Controls' started by ChrisN67, Nov 13, 2010.

1. ChrisN67

ChrisN67 Senior Member

Hello all,

I have a project boat I have been working on for 2 years and I have come to the point where I have to install batteries.
    I have twin Yanmar 6LY2's and a genset.

I was thinking of using one redtop optima 50 Ah with 1000CCA at 0C for staring each engine with a Blue Seas Battery Cluster with Voltage Sensitive Relay (VSR)
    Then qty(2) 75 Ah blue optima for house batteries (4 batteries total)

The boat is a 36 Intrepid Walkaround. I have a genset I will install in the future but for now the only source of charging is the 60 Amp Yanmar Alternator.

Electrical load is mostly a stereo and Raymarine chartplotter/radar autopilot.

The VSR cluster has a parallel for both starting batteries, but I will also add an electric solenoid to parallel starting and house batteries.

Any ideas or suggestions?

2. michael pierzga

michael pierzga Senior Member

Gee...whats a Blue Seas Battery Cluster with Voltage Sensitive Relay (VSR)
    ? what is it for ...start batteries ? or to tie the whole system into one ? Normally you keep start batteries separate..completely.. separate charging alternator on each engine ,with a simple crossover switch to allow you to suck service power to start engines in case of failure. And whats a gen set for ? Charging the house bank ? Normally an additional , single ,dedicated engine driven high output alternator and naturally a battery charger for dock use does the trick .
    For generating limited AC , an extra pair of extra house batteries and a combo battery charger dc ac verter does a fine job on a small boat .