SEA 222 SSB - Need help troubleshooting

Discussion in 'OnBoard Electronics & Controls' started by bigwalt, Dec 30, 2009.

1. bigwalt

bigwalt New Member

I need help in troubleshooting my SEA 222. Anyone on this forum have tech experience with this radio?

I saw several posts by Fairbank56 on this subject. Eric - are you still on this forum??

2. DaveJ

DaveJ Senior Member

I've had experience in radio's before but not the one your talking about, maybe i might be able to help, what is the problem?

3. bigwalt

bigwalt New Member

I bought a used SEA222 SSB & auto Tuner for use on a 45' sailboat I'm restoring. The problem is that it is not functioning. It has a vacuum florscent alpha/numeric display that does not work - and does not seem to be receiving any signal. It is a PLL digital design. I've checked all the suppy voltages (5 VDC, 8VDC, 10 VDC) and they all seem to be functioning correctly. I'm a retired engineer with an EE background - and am hoping I can find someone on this forum who is a marine radio tech and knows this transciever. I did obtain the service manual for it - so have all the schematics and pcb layouts. There was a forum member - Fairbank56 - who was a radio tech, knew the SEA222 and had made several posts last year to help out someone else with troubleshooting the radio. I'm hoping I can get into contact with him - his first name was Eric

4. DaveJ

DaveJ Senior Member

Sorry, the problem sounds more complicated than i can help you with. I'm an Avionics Tech, so have fixed aircraft radio/radar's, but have the item and the manual infront of me. Not being able to see either and having no knowledge of the item, i can only have a stab in the dark.