Simple hull help? (3dm)

Discussion in 'Software' started by DANGERSPEY, May 28, 2006.

1. DANGERSPEY

DANGERSPEY Junior Member

Greetings all. I hope it's o.k. to request help on ones first post so here goes.

I've been goofing around for a couple of years on a real simple hull design and would really like to start cutting metal soon. This hull has 10 deg or so of deadrise all the way through to be used on inland rivers with an o/b jet for power, as I'm sure some will point out how silly this design would be for ocean use.
    I'm pretty happy with the design the way it is now although when I display the curvature graph on the chine it looks kinda screwy. When I attempt to "fair" the chine it does get smoother but it puts a curve in the part of the chine that's supposed to be straight.
    Any comments would be appreciated.
    Ryan

Attached Files:

2. E Hanson

E Hanson Junior Member

I tried to answer you query, but then my post was lost during an issue invlolving "logging" on. If this posts, I will try again with an answer for you.

3. E Hanson

E Hanson Junior Member

Ok, I can post, so here is a way to fair your hull lines. For this I am going to use the shear line for an example. The chine and the keel are done the same way.

Step one: draw a straight construction line from the transom fwd. this line needs to be at the height and beam that you want your shear line to be.

Step two: Rebuild your surface control line. It should have 5 control points and be degree 3.

Step Three: Turn the control points on. (note these are NOT the edit points, the control points only lie on the line at the start and end of the line.)

Step Four: Working from the transom fwd, drag the aft 3 control points so that they lie exactly on your straight construction line. Use the "nearest" snap. This will force you surface control curve to be straight and tangent to the construction line.

Step Five: Drag the fwd control point to the top of your stem line.