Design flow for plywood hull?

Discussion in 'Software' started by magwas, Oct 6, 2009.

1. magwas

magwas Senior Member

Hi!

I am new to boat building. I thought as a first project I might build a kayak from plywood.
    First I thought I will look up some free design on the net similar to my needs, feed the plans to the table saw, and glue it together.
    I have realized that this is not as easy as that. I have find no plans as finely developed as that, and one possibly needs multiple design tools and an understanding of boat design which I do not yet...
    I now have a design flow in my head. I realize that maybe there may be no design tool helping in every step, and some steps should be done by hand. I try to ask my questions along this design flow. Please help me fill in the leaks, and correct any false assumptions I made (there are probably many).

I will revolve around open source or at least free software tools, like hulls, freeship, qcad, etc.

1. Come out with a basic design in an electronic form. This part is relatively easy, "Hulls" program have many hull designs, and if I start a new project in freeship, it also comes up with a reasonable boat along the parameters given. I can also put pictures into background of freeship and recreate the design.

2. Make it developable. Hulls makes developable hulls afaik, and the designs coming with it are fine in this respect. Unfortunately it is very limited what I can do with hulls, because it keeps crashing in windows emulator. My questions here:
    - I guess that having developable hull means that the edges corresponding to the same plate should have the same arc. Is it true?
    - How can I convert an arbitrary design in freeship into a developable approximation?
    - What other (open source) tools are there to plan a developable hull, or convert it to be developable?