Silver Spray - What timber to use?

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Teresa Woods, Aug 20, 2011.

1. Teresa Woods

Teresa Woods New Member

I am a newbie in the process of restoring my Hillyard and am stuck with the question of what timber to use to replace things like planks, frames and the stem post. Can anyone help me?

For more about my restoration see my blog:

http://silversprayrestoration.blogspot.com/

2. BATAAN

BATAAN Senior Member

Use original materials when possible. Try to find someone who can identify the woods your Hillyard was built of and use those if you can.
    Stems are best of white oak though purpleheart is much used for repairs in my area.
    Frames are usually white oak, planking in UK often is larch which works very well.
    Port Orford cedar is ideal though expensive for planking.
    Honduras mahogany is used sometimes.
    Stay away from Philippine mahogany as it is a word for several species of limited use.

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Philippine mahogany has a bad rep because it covers such a broad range of the shoera family. These are the meranti timber and the dark reds are quite good, but it does take some experience to note the differences, so you can reject a bad sheet or plank. I wouldn't discount meranti if you can get some good stuff. Meranti plywood is usually quite good, especially if 1088 or 6566 marked.

You also can substitute species for those used in your boat, but the substitute should have similar physical qualities as the original species. An example of this would be that I often substitute live oak for white in my area. It's readily available, it's stronger, slight more rot resistant and isn't as prone to checking or splitting because of it's interlocking grain.

A good boat carpenter can identify the species used in your boat or a little research on your part, will likely be as fruitful.