varnish or epoxy

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by 2geekie, Sep 19, 2007.

1. 2geekie

2geekie Tracie

Hi guys my name is Tracie and I am new to this whole forum thing. Anyway I have a 59 elgin molded ply boat that I got from my dad, and I would love to find out whats the best way to preserve it. The outside of the hull is finished in a 2 stage epoxy primmer and paint. now what of the inside, which I would like to keep natural. Should I used epoxy and varnish? Can I used tung oil as a stopgap untill I can finish stripping the out varnish, or will that just cause me more work later? I would love to get her in the water...Thanks from a girl without a clue

2. Landlubber

Landlubber Senior Member

Tracie,

Don't use tung oil if you plan on using epoxy later, you want the epoxy to be able to penetrate the wood, the tung oil will prohibit that.
    This is a big project from a girl without a clue. You will certainly know a lot if you do decide to finish off the project.

3. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Hi Tracie,

I agree tung oil would be problematic. If you want to put something on that will seal for the time being, use oil-based polyurethane such as is used as a clear floor finish. It's cheap and effective, has no color to leave behind, and comes off with stripper and moderate sanding.
    I don't know if the boat is enclosed, in such a way as to eliminate infra red light degrading the polyurethane, nor how long you are going to wait before stripping and varnishing. There are exterior grade clear polyurethane finishes too. They cost a bit more, but should be used if you need time and the inside surfaces are subject to full sunlight.

Alan

4. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder