Creating frames using Rhino or other software

Discussion in 'Software' started by CET, Oct 12, 2005.

1. CET

CET Senior Member

I have designed a hull that I would like to build as a one-off project using foam core and fiberglass. I designed it using FREEship and have imported the model into Rhino. What is the best way to create the frames (stations?) I will need to build the male mold structure? Will I need another software program? I am completely new to boatbuilding, so please forgive me if this is a dumb question. Thanks in advance for any help.

2. CGN

CGN Senior Member

No problem all questions are welcome, now you need to create sections on the hull for reference or you are talking about the actual structural frame to support the mold?

3. CET

CET Senior Member

Thanks for your reply, CGN. I am looking to create sections for reference. I will be building a male mold using longitudinal battens over lattitudinal frames. What I would like to be able to do is create "drawings" and dimensions of the lattitudinal frames. I'm envisioning a frame, or station, every 12" or so from stem to stern. Thanks for your help.

4. Baldur

Baldur Junior Member

This is what works for me,

From the top view I create stations lines.
    Then I "project" those sation lines onto the hull surfaces (from the top view)
    Next I create points along the new 3d projected lines at the intersections needed for the offset table (keel, chines, sheer,)
    I can then use the new 3d projected lines for creating frames.

Hope this helps......

5. CGN

CGN Senior Member

Hi CET,

At least on V2 you can't project lines to a mesh, it has to be a nurb to be able to use this tool, so most of the tools for nurbs it won't work with meshes, for some reason only contour works.

Export from Free!ship as a 3D Face, set your resolution of the mesh as highest before you export and open the file using rhino