Ships Curves in AutoCAD

Discussion in 'Software' started by g-ship, Nov 2, 2005.

1. g-ship

g-ship Junior Member

Does anyone have a source for actual ship curves based in AutoCAD?

2. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

Autocad cannot do ship's curves. The way curves are formed in autocad cannot handle the proper curve form of ship's curves

3. CGN

CGN Senior Member

You can try looking for some pictures of the ship curves and scan these in
    AutoCAD.., but why not use splines and the curves options on AutoCAD?, Alias has some kind of electronic "French Curves set", this tool is on alias and studio tools, but I have no experience with them or how the actually work.

http://www.alias.com/eng/about/research/papers/file/i3dg99_frenchcurves.pdf

4. stewi

stewi Junior Member

It is not impossible to create boat shapes with ACAD. However, these are just surflines and no bodies like in Solid Works.
    Create 3 D lines for your (1/2) hull shape. Use edgesurf and set the surftab to the desired number of sections. Mirror your half model.
    http://img481.imageshack.us/img481/523/acad3wf.jpg

5. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member