new to everything

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by sparky985, Jun 19, 2011.

1. sparky985

sparky985 New Member

hi... i'm new to just about everything to sailing. I'm looking for all info on building a 1 or 2 person wooden sailboat for both myself and my daughter to build and sail. All suggestions from size, type, plans, books, etc on the subject would be appreciated. Thank you, and I'll appologize for my newbie-ness/

2. rasorinc

rasorinc Senior Member

3. sean-nós

sean-nós Senior Member

The Glen-l plans are great and the forum is very helpful with every step of the build, I am on my second build not sailboats but I do know a guy who is building one and his blog archive is very good and may be of help to you.
    http://davesboat.blogspot.com/

1 person likes this.
  4. Angélique

Angélique aka Angel (only by name)

If you want to sail now then buy. If you want to build and sail later then build. But how old will you daughter when it's ready? Will she still go with you or have her own life by then . . ? ? And does she want to build or sail this summer..? But maybe you can do both, or build only in winter...

A good ready to sail second hand boat will be much cheaper than a new DIY one. Plus what you see is what you get, and you can test sail it first.

But even if you and your daughter really want to build... get some sailing experience first to find out what you and she like. Try to board some other boaters and / or hire a boat of the size you're thinking of. Then, when you kinda know what you want, buy a matching second hand boat and enjoy sailing with your daugther. Then decide if you rather go sailing or building. If it's the latter then you will be much better able to choose which boat to build from your own preference. The second hand boat can be sold when there is no need for it anymore and there is little risk of losing money in it as they are cheap now.

Good luck!
    Angel

5. lewisboats

lewisboats Obsessed Member