New Boat

Discussion in 'Sterndrives' started by 77 crusader, Sep 3, 2014.

1. 77 crusader

77 crusader Junior Member

Hello everyone, I just bought an old girl and she is in great shape! I drove her nice for the first date but coming to dock I did a once over and ... milky oil!
    1977 crestliner 775 crusader, 470/225 cid. I read many threads but when she is out of water no oil mix when I run her (not long... thermo might not be opening) this is all after I cleaned her up got all the milk out.. (2 oil changes, 1 with a cup of diesel and a 1 min run)
    I am a mechanic so I want to say head gasket, but most posts say water pump seals and sleeves etc...
    My question before I head back to the cottage, is would it not leak anti-freeze once I started her after I changed the oil? or Do I put her back in the water and see if its fresh water entering from manifold?
    A note.. she starts right up, and she purrrrs just nice.... good torque and speed on first date was GREAT
    I will check weep hole but was hoping for a quick answer...... The water pump sounds hard but the manifold I can get fixed here in town, done many heads with luck so that should be easy... LOL...

Thanks everyone for your time.

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Those engines have a heat exchanger. If what is contaminating the oil is water and not antifreeze, then it is not coming from the head gasket. The most likely place would be the riser; either the gasket or pinholes caused by corrosion. The antifreeze leak can be ruled out with a standard pressure test.

3. 77 crusader

Thanks I will try that right away, how long do you think I can run out of water? does anyone really know?

4. Ike

Ike Senior Member

I recently had the same problem. It was the gasket between the manifold and the riser. Check it out.

5. 77 crusader

Thanks Ike!
    I did that this weekend and it looked good but also I saw that the previous owner had blocked the weep hole on the engine water pump.