Scuba Diving boat design and construction

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Panama Jack, Sep 27, 2012.

1. Panama Jack

Panama Jack Junior Member

Guys....This scuba diving boat is a some kind of retirement project and I am looking for help on a design and construction for this project. I am looking at a boat within 36 feet with capacity for 12 plus divers and equipment.....I am a very experience welder with some experience on boat construction but I am looking for good Ideas in this kind of project..... I will Appreciate any help and suggestions.....Thanks...:confused:

2. jonr

jonr Senior Member

One thing I dislike is a stern ladder where in heavy seas, it lifts up and if you aren't careful, smashes into your head. The bottom of the ladder should be rounded, padded and stay at least 1 meter below the surface.

3. Panama Jack

Totally Right....

You do not want no customers to be bang on the head....I have seen few boats but my question is....Does somebody know a company where you could send the picture and get the PLANS AND CUTS FOR THE STEEL somebody really good at this no big 1/2 inch gaps to weld...

4. Panama Jack

5. Tad

Tad Boat Designer

Before buying plans or building a boat you may want to check with your local Coast Guard office.

6. Panama Jack

Thanks.....

that is why I looking for a Company with reputation on boat construction. I do not want to send the patterns to the steel cut shop and find out that nothing match ....

7. Tad

Tad Boat Designer

Well yes, I agree.......I think you have at least two major problems. One is find a design that is build-able, the other is to find a design that meets USCG regulations for passenger carrying vessels.

8. micspoko

micspoko Senior Member

9. Ilan Voyager

Ilan Voyager Senior Member