Self tending jib

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by Charly, Jan 23, 2015.

1. Charly

Charly Senior Member

hey guys, I am setting up a homebuilt cat for the first time.

The plans call for a self tending jib, with a Schaefer track, two blocks on cars, and a block at the clew.

I have zero experience with self tenders. The first question I have is- How do you backwind the sail when you need to heave to or get out of irons?
    Thanks

2. Richard Woods

Richard Woods Woods Designs

You hold the clew by hand to back the sail. And, as you'll need barber haulers when off wind to control twist, you can use those when you heave to or sail off an anchor

Most modern catamarans don't get in irons

Richard Woods

3. philSweet

philSweet Senior Member

Can you post a sketch of the jib arrangement?

4. Charlyipad

Charlyipad Senior Member

Phil, I can't tonight on this iPad, but it has a seven foot t track set up just forward of the mast. the plans aren't real specific about how to set it up. Seems to me that with two separate standup blocks on the track and then a block set up on the clew, you would start at a becket on the clew? Then through one block and back up to the clew, then to the other standup block, and then I guess it is up to the individual needs to lead the sheet from there to somewhere it can be handled the easiest. in my case that would be back to the helm.

I have no idea yet how this boat is going to respond, but I want be able to control the sheets and the daggerboard controls from the helm, and that includes back winding the jib.

Any comments appreciated

Here is a page from the study plans. Fwiw
    http://www.multihulldesigns.com/images/charter/36chcatTOP.GIF

5. gggGuest

gggGuest ...

I've seen boats rigged with backing lines, which were just light lines led to the car via fairlead at the end of the track and back to somewhere handy. Normally loose, you just grabbed one if you needed to back the jib. No cleats, just the end fastened.

6. Charly