Aluminum boat framing

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by welder/fitter, Sep 14, 2008.

1. welder/fitter

welder/fitter Senior Member

I was chatting with someone whom is planning to build an aluminum sailboat - I think he said 42 feet - and was interested in his plan for fabricating his frames. He plans to cut(plasma) each frame from a single sheet, rather than "piecing" it together, thus avoiding weakened joints. As I have no experience in building aluminum boats, I'm interested in the thoughts of those who do.

2. waikikin

waikikin Senior Member

Sounds like an exxy option, cutting segments such as frames/ floors / deck beams with a rider bar set around the interior perimeter is more typical & heaps cheaper esp as the frames get bigger, you might cut from a single plate up fwd & collision blkhead & lazarette etc & see a saving in effort, LazyJ might chime in with an opinion as he's into the alu, my building in metal experience in mainly in steel with some repar/fitout to alu. All the best from Jeff.

3. lazeyjack

lazeyjack Guest

yes thats common practice now, you can flange it up if you want
    the tensile is not as great in 5083, but you can up the scantlings, , limits on size of plate is about 2m wide, , generally you get abt 20% waste on metal, per tonne, which you sell back to scrap,, of course to nest is the key,

4. kmorin

kmorin Senior Member

NC cutting and nested parts in aluminum

welder/fitter,

most boat budgets need to keep the waste % down because of the high cost of aluminum- and nesting NC parts so that frames are built from several parts is the most efficient means of using the plate purchased.

Joints- or butts- in frames are not weak spots if the designer knows they're there. Usually ring frames have an added flange roughly parallel to the keel plane - and this combined with correct welded joints makes the subpart-assembled frame, normal and very (materials) cost effective.