Powerboat concept - advice needed

Discussion in 'Projects & Proposals' started by Enigmatic, Nov 26, 2015.

1. Enigmatic

Enigmatic New Member

Hello Forum!

This is my very first post, so first I'd like to introduce myself in a few words.
    I'm a young desing engineer from Poland. In my actual workplace I design everything that refers to airplanes manufacturing. As you can guess, boatboulding is something really new to me. But some kind of a crazy thought came to my mind.
    As and open-minded person, I found that only a few companies in the world actually produce modern looking boats. Almost whole navy market in my country looks like it is step or two behind other products, i.e. cars. So, here comes the question. Why do they keep focusing on a classic design, instead of going forward?

A few days of search on the Internet, and I found only two companies that are keeping up with the visual design trends:
    Palmer Johnson with the 48M SuperSport and Art of Kinetik (all of their models look great!).

My idea is to desing and make a prototype of a concept futuristic-looking powerboat and I hope you guys will help me out with some advices. Can you recommend me some literature/sites/software about hull desing for powerboats? And maybe first of all, where should I start my journey in hull designing?

The attachements show the result of my (one and a half week) work, a CAD model generated in Catia. This kind of futuristic shapes I'm talking about.

This hull will require a three mold system. The upper part (shown in attachement image) would need one mold, the lower wound need two, because of the "pocket" shapes, that go inside of the hull.

Cheers!

Attached Files:

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Welcome to the forum.

Lose the pocket shapes, otherwise you're going to get very wet underway.