A question about yacht design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by eitanwaks, Jun 5, 2008.

1. eitanwaks

eitanwaks Junior Member

Hi,
    about a year ago I posted a question here about wheelchair accessible yachts. I only found one design that is wheelchair accessible however, it is prohibitively expensive at €200,000. This is their website: http://www.velaetica.it/

I have two questions:
    1. Is there anybody out there that would like to help me design a yacht that is wheelchair accessible? (I am a mechanical engineer but have no experience in yacht design, however I have [unfortunately] a lot of experience with wheelchair accessibility issues)

2. Is it possible to buy a used yacht and then redesigned interior, and maybe some of the deck to make it accessible? Would this be cheaper?

Thanks for the help,
    Eitan Waks

2. the1much

the1much hippie dreams

yes,,,,,in fact,,that would be the good step to take,,,,,especially for people who cant afford a new boat,,,,you can "retro-fit" existing yachts,,,,and from what you learn from ya first "retro-fit" you can apply that to a "new design",,and market both.,,,,i'm pretty sure your not gonna believe it actually would be!
    ,,,,but wait for the "experts" ta chime in,,,im sure their have more "in depth" thoughts bout it,,hehe ;)

3. the1much

the1much hippie dreams

build 1 that would fit this wheelchair,,,i bet theres a big demand on the "double decker"chair ;)
    and again i wanna say i think you got a great idea :)

Attached Files:

4. TeddyDiver

TeddyDiver Gollywobbler

While waiting the experts I drop a line.. Dealing with smaller vessels it could be easier to use some kind of built-in bosun chair type arrangement instead of reeling the actual wheel chairs on board.. and a lot cheaper..

5. eitanwaks

eitanwaks Junior Member

TeddyDiver,